In order to benefit from all features the Alumni Center provides, please make sure that your Browser has JavaScript enabled. For assistance please follow this link Turn on javascript or email us

Alumni News -- Week ending April 8, 2018
April 13, 2018
In this week's 30 alumni headlines, John Kemper is named President and CEO of Commerce Bancshares; Francesco Caio is named President of Saipem; Alice Woodwark is named Managing Director of Restaurant Associates; Ajay Bakshi is named CEO, india at IHH Healthcare Berhad; Viktor Strömberg joins SSAB's executive committee; Maxime Aucoin is named an EVP at CDPQ; Sid Taparia is named International Business Head of Star India's Hotstar platform; and more.

All headlines for the week appear below in alphabetical order by the alum's last name.

* * *

Daniel Allen (NYO 97-01) joins board of SharpSpring Technologies (read more)

Pierluigi Antonelli (MIL, ROM, CHI 93-99) named Head of Oncology, Europe at Novartis (read more – in Italian)

Maxime Aucoin (MON 04-06, 08-12) is named EVP, Portfolio Construction and Innovation at La Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ) (read more)

Ajay Bakshi (NJE, DBI, RYD, DEL 05-11) is named CEO for India at IHH Healthcare Berhad (read more – subscription required)

Ankiti Bose (MUM 12-14), co-founder and CEO of e-commerce startup Zilingo, raises USD$54m to bring experience of Asian shopping bazaars to users (read more)

12 alumni – Jim Breyer (NYO 83-87), Roelof Botha (JOH 96-98), David Chao (SFO 92-97), Matt Cohler (SVO 01-03), Byron Deeter (LAN 96-98), Jeremy Levine (NYO 95-97), Jeff Lieberman (NYO, FIR 96-98), Jeremy Liew (AUO 94-96), Ann Miura-Ko (NYO, SVO 98-01), Neil Rimer (ZRH 90-90), Richard Wong (SFO 96-99), and Allen Zhu (SHA 98-00) – on Forbes’ 'Midas List' of world's top 100 venture capitalists (read more here and here)

Francesco Caio (LON 86-91) named President at Saipem (read more – in Italian)

Nick Caton (SFO 09-12) named VP, Commercial Data & Analytics Transformation at Anheuser-Busch (read more)

Jayson Chi (TOK, HKO 06-16) raises USD$180m to launch Makers Fund, a VC fund focused on global interactive entertainment industry (read more)

Leeland Ekstrom (BOS, SVO, DEN 09-17) launches Nashville Biosciences, a subsidiary of Vanderbilt University Medical Center (VUMC) (read more)

Nate Falck (DBI 08-13), COO and CFO at Ubuntu Made, and Meighan Roose (NJE 05-08) of Zazzle launch Afridrille, a social enterprise product (read more)

Sarah Friar (LON 96-98), CFO of Square, profiled in Irish Independent (read more)

John Kemper (NYO, CHI 03-07) named President and CEO at Commerce BancShares, effective August 1, 2018 (read more)

Ralph Klin (BER, HAM 92-00) named Chief Product Officer at Rewe Digital (read more – in German)

Kangjoon Lee (SEO 01-03) tapped as head of Dunamu's new VC subsidiary (read more)

Peter Mombaur (DUS, JOH 98-02) named alternate director at UAC of Nigeria plc (read more)

Jörg Nowack (BRU 02-06) joins Crystalline Mirror Solutions GmbH as Managing Director (read more – in German)

Rob Paterson (HKO 05-07), President & CEO of Toronto-based Alterna Savings, which finances marijuana-related businesses, profiled in Financial Post (read more)

Shankar Prasad (MUM 06-08), founder of Plum Cosmetics, India’s first 100% vegan beauty brand, profiled in Livemint (read more)

Simon Raffel (FRA 07-08) to receive Walter Schulz Prize, an annual research award for young scientists excelling in tumor research performance (read more – in German)

Suresh Shanmugham (NYO 92-94), Managing Partner at Saama Capital, raises USD$100m for 'contrarian bets' (read more)

Viktor Strömberg (LSL, STB 04-11) joins SSAB AB's Executive Committee as EVP, Strategy and Digitalization (read more)

Mithun Sundar (ATL, NJE, CHN 06-15) named Chief Revenue Officer at Myntra, effective in June (read more)

Richard Sykes (CHI 96-17) appointed to board of directors of Dycom Industries (read more)

Sid Taparia (MUM 05-07) named International Business Head of Star India's digital and mobile entertainment platform Hotstar (read more)

Paul Todd (LON, SFO, SEA, PNW, LOX, LOK 97-07) joins GLG as CEO (read more)

Jay Walder (LOX 07-09) elected to board of iFresh Inc. (read more)

Joey Wat (HKO 00-03), CEO of Yum China, on why young professionals should keep learning (read more)

Alice Woodwark (LON, LOX, CHI 97-97, 99-01, 03-13) named Managing Director of Compass Group UK & Ireland's Restaurant Associates (read more)

Diana Yousef (NJE 03-05), founder and CEO of change:WATER Labs, profiled in Fast Company for development of waterless toilet (read more)

Please wait while the page updates